Welcome to Kansas Insurance Department

Kansas Insurance Commissioner
Ken Selzer, CPA

  • Kansas Insurance Department
  • 420 SW 9th Street
  • Topeka, Kansas 66612-1678
  • Consumer Hotline: 800-432-2484 (KS only)
  • Email Us | Phone: 785-296-3071

Maintaining your new non-resident license

Requirements for maintaining your non-resident insurance agent license in Kansas:

  • You must maintain a resident license in your home state for the same lines of authority that you are qualified for in Kansas.
  • Secure company certification. Appointment is required by each company for which business is transacted.
  • You shall remain in compliance with K.A.R. 40-7-9 by reporting each occurrence, within 30 days, to the Commissioner of Insurance.
  • Renew license by the biennial due date with a $50 fee. The biennial due date is the agent's birth date in each odd year for agents born in an odd-numbered year or each even year for agents born in an even-numbered year. For newly licensed agents, such due date shall not be earlier than two years from the date of the agent's initial licensure.